Fabulous Sydney

60's Chick

I went to Sydney for the weekend to visit my daughter and to go to a friends 50th birthday party.  Gosh it seems so amazing that the parties are now for 50’s and I suppose it won’t be long before we are going to 60’s parties.  The theme for the party was a 1960’s theme so I went to the costume place and got a long hippy wig, peace pendant and a head band.  Wearing the wig reminded me of how my hair was as a young girl and whilst it was quite nice I am glad my hair is not this long again.

I flew in on Saturday morning, leaving Al behind in sunny Brisbane.  The 1.5 hr flight went by very fast and before I knew it we were in Sydney.  I caught the shuttle bus to Lisa’s, had a cup of tea and then they surprised me and took me out to lunch.  More of this in the next post.  After lunch I walked up to David Jones & Myer, had a bit of a look around and then went back to Lisa’s to get ready for the party.

What a party, it was fantastic, we arrived a little early so I helped to blow up the helium balloons and to put the drinks into the ice bucket.  Our host had been very busy cooking and baking all day.  I was impressed.  Out came prawns with orange and coriander, bite sized rolls with either beef or salmon, egg roll ups, sandwiches, mini beef or vege pies, platters galore of cheeses, prosciutto, antipasto, nuts, dips, chicken kebabs, beef kebabs and the list went on.  Dessert was two pavlova’s, raspberry almond tarts, blueberry almond tarts, the most divine chocolate mousse and to top it all off a fabulous 50 chocolate birthday cake.  The music was great and I danced my feet off.  I got back to Lisa & Dave’s at about 2.30, aching feet keeping me awake for a while and did not get up again till 11am the next morning.  Bliss let me tell you.

Sunday was pretty much spent mooching around though Lisa I did go back up to the shops and we bought the ingredients to make the Masterchef Beef Stroganoff recipe.  Very nice, however the general concensus was that it was very rich.  Monday I spent the day with my friend Fiona, she showed me where she lives and the room she works from so that when we chat on skype I can picture her.  We had a lovely day together, went out to lunch at the local garden centre and then she dropped me  back off in town.  Al had put in a request for a couple of loaves of bread from Bourke St bakery so I managed to buy a sour dough rye and a white sour dough.  Both were lovely and have almost been eaten in full.  It was nice to come back home again on Monday evening, Al waiting for me even though it was late.  All in all a great weekend.  Thanks to Lisa & Dave & Fiona

Sydney Opera House

Sydney Views

Posted on July 14, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment